yorkshire till i die

My pal is in this video. I was almost in it, but I knew I was going on a bender the night before and would be sleep-deprived, so I ducked out of it. I’m a lightweight and not afraid to admit it. In all honesty, I was all set to hate it anyway – distasteful Devvo and his pisstake Chav-antics. No tar. Arty lover of subtlety over here, yada yada yada. Anyway, I’m a div. When I actually watched it, I found this video sad, touching and honest. It’s a pretty good depiction of a life, as experienced by some Yorkshire folk.

Lately, I’ve started reading the comments section under articles and videos on the internet, in order to gauge a selection of folk’s true feelings, as expressed from a safely hidden spot behind their screens.  This can often be both disturbing and rage-inducing, but this time I spotted the below comment;

“If you look past the comedy there’s a pretty powerful social commentary that I feel will be lost on a lot of people. So weird to see the streets of Leeds again in a video like this.

Thanks for this video, I actually cried whilst watching to think of the times when I used to walk on those very streets and look about and think ‘this is my life, what do I really have? People don’t even know of the desperate state some of Yorkshire is in…”

I watched this a while back, when I’d only just decided to escape the big smoke, head for the hills and move back up North. I remember thinking, YES!! YORKSHIRE, I’M COMIN’ ‘OME!!! (coz there’s also green fields, rolling hills and my beloved dry stone walls, and it’s not called ‘God’s own Country’ for nowt.) It reminded me of some of the first lines of poetry I ever penned, of a street I used to live on, and of plenty of times, people and places from my life both past and present.

hull, hell and halifax, so the saying goes
a miserable elegy for my home, sweet home,
a place of pebble dash – and pubs,
some diamonds, lotsa rough…
but who can hate a place, i ask,
where everyone’s called love?

Yup, there’s no doubt about it. I am YORKSHIRE TILL I DIE !! xxx

Leave a Reply

